Handsworth Historical Society
Handsworth Historical Society was formed in 1952 and since 1978 has occupied half of the building known as ‘Handsworth Old Town Hall’. This is a Grade 2 listed cruck cottage built about 1460 and we run our half of it as a community museum about Handsworth.
It contains many exhibits/displays and a host of accessible local records.
As well as opening to the public on dates shown below, We also try to help with family history and other enquiries about the area’s past, and welcome visitors/groups at other times by appointment. Please contact us if you would like to arrange a visit for your group/school.

PROGRAMME 2024

Saturday 9 March Coffee Morning

Thursday 21 March Black Country Miners – illustrated talk by Keith Robinson

Saturday 13 April Coffee Morning

Thursday 18 April Forgotten Brummies – illustrated talk by Les Williams 

Saturday 11 May Coffee Morning plus cake sales and plant swap/sales

Thursday 16 May Formation of the Home Guardillustrated talk by David Morse

Saturday 22 June Handsworth Wood in Bloom

Saturday 13 July Coffee Morning

Saturday 10 August Coffee Morning

Saturday 14 September Heritage Open Day – 10am to 5pm

Thursday 19 September – Annual General Meeting plus Shakespeare, Flowers, and Shakespeare Gardens – ‘talk by Mary Bodfish’

Saturday 12 October – Coffee Morning

Thursday 17 October – Second City Executions – talk by David Humphreys

Saturday 9 November – Coffee Morning

Thursday 21 November – Breweries in Birmingham – talk by Jayne Heathcote

Saturday 14 December – Coffee Morning

Speaker Meetings: New Church Centre, Winleigh Road (off Church Lane), Handsworth Wood, B20 2HN, at 2.00pm (adjacent car park).  Members £3.00, visitors £4.00, including refreshments.

Coffee Mornings:  Old Town Hall, corner of Slack Lane/College Road, Handsworth, B20 2JL, 10.00am to 1.00pm.  Admission free.

NB:  Apart from Coffee Mornings and other events, the Old Town Hall is only open by appointment 

pastedGraphic.png

Featured Link:

momondo.de

City Guide for Birmingham
Discover the best that Birmingham has to offer – what to do there, when to go and more..

Share This: