Handsworth Historical Society was formed in 1952 and since 1978 has occupied half of the building known as ‘Handsworth Old Town Hall’. This is a Grade 2 listed cruck cottage built about 1460 and we run our half of it as a community museum about Handsworth.
It contains many exhibits/displays and a host of accessible local records.

As well as opening to the public on dates shown below, We also try to help with family history and other enquiries about the area’s past, and welcome visitors/groups at other times by appointment. Please contact us if you would like to arrange a visit for your group/school.

SPRING/SUMMER PROGRAMME 2019

Tuesday 15 January 2019 at 2pm
HHS In the Beginning – talk by our Secretary, Paulette Burkill, about the history of the Society and our use of the Old Town Hall

Saturday 2 February
Coffee Morning

Wednesday 20 February at 2pm
Rogues, Villains and Thieves – talk by Vanessa Morgan on 19
th century poachers, bank robbers and more

Saturday 16 March
Coffee Morning

Wednesday 20 March at 2pm
Divine Beauty at Birmingham Cathedral – illustrated talk by Jane McArdle on this baroque jewel and its beautiful Burne-Jones windows

Saturday 13 April
Coffee Morning

Tuesday 16 April
From Horse Power to Motor Power

illustrated talk by David Cole on how the transition in transport appears on pub signs

Saturday 11 May
Coffee Morning

Tuesday 14 May
Midlands Mystery Tour
Virtual tour of highlights of several counties with Ian Bott

Saturday 8 June
Outing to Calke Abbey

Saturday 22 June
Coffee Morning

Saturday 29 June, 12-4pm
Handsworth Wood in Bloom/Family Fun Day at Springfield Tennis Club, Kilbys Grove (off Church Lane), B20 2ER, not OTH – we will have a display stand there.

Saturday 13 July
Coffee Morning

Saturday 17 August
Coffee Morning

Saturday 14 September
Heritage Open Day
10.00am to 5.00pm.  Free admission/refreshments available.

The Old Town Hall will no longer be open on the first Tuesday evening of the month, but visits can be made at other times by appointment, using the contact details above, to look round the building, or at specific books, photographs, maps in our archives.
Speaker Meetings: New Church Centre, Winleigh Road
(off Church Lane), 
Handsworth Wood, B20 2HN, at 7.30pm or 2pm from January to March inclusive’ (adjacent car park).
Members £2.00, visitors £3.00, including refreshments.
Google Maps Link
Coffee Mornings:  Old Town Hall, corner of Slack Lane/College Road, Handsworth, B20 2JL, 10.00am to 1.00pm. 
Admission free.

Get In Touch

 

Verification

Share This: